Sewage Watch EPA ECHO reported-event explorer

Washington, D.C. sewer overflow report card

Event period: 2023-01-01–2026-08-31. A reproducible view of reported records, not a safety rating.

Publication pending: the local database needs at least 100 verified EPA records. These totals contain no fixtures.

What the records show

0 reported events have dates in this period. 0 include volume; those fields total Not reported.

0 of 0 records across all observed dates have a receiving-water entry. An entry can be a placeholder or an ambiguous name; only reviewed names have location pages.

The pilot has 0 permit system(s). Comparable reporting coverage across utilities has not been verified, so the table describes source coverage rather than comparing utility performance.

EPA source and limitations

Permit coverage, 2023-01-01–2026-08-31; not a performance ranking
Permit / systemEventsWith volumeKnown gallonsObserved event datesReporting requirements

Reported events: 2023-01-01–2026-08-31

0 reported overflow and bypass events; Not reported in available volume fields.

Volume reported for 0 of 0 events. Missing volumes are excluded, not treated as zero. 0 records without event dates are excluded from this period.

Counts use event occurrence dates, not EPA receipt or import dates. Observed event dates: Not reported–Not reported.

Use and share this report

Download underlying event CSV · Open public aggregate embed

Embed this aggregate table with a link to its methodology:

<iframe src="https://sewage.watch/regions/washington-dc/report/embed" title="Washington, D.C. reported sewer overflow table" width="100%" height="480" loading="lazy"></iframe>

Sources, coverage and methodology

Source: EPA ECHO sewer overflow download and table definitions. Permit selection: EPA permit directory. Download the current EPA archive.

Last successful EPA refresh: Not reported UTC. EPA receipt dates in this area: Not reported–Not reported. A successful refresh does not establish complete or current reporting.

This pilot covers records under DC0021199, not every system in the metropolitan area or watershed. State navigation follows permit prefixes. No event county boundary assignments are available.

Each EPA event key counts once. Revised records replace earlier versions. Volume totals sum only supplied gallons; rates are not converted to volumes. Missing dates are excluded from time-based counts. The CSV contains the same in-period records, including missing volume fields.

Waterbody pages use exact, curated names joined through EPA receiving-water rows and event keys. Capitalization and surrounding whitespace are normalized only through documented aliases. No downstream impact or watershed membership is inferred from proximity. Waterbody totals can overlap and must not be added together.

Reported record dates are not proof of continuous reporting. Utility coverage and reporting obligations have not been established as comparable; this report does not rank utilities or identify a “worst polluter.” EPA data may be revised and omits some reports. This is not real-time safety advice; no reported events does not mean safe water.